GENMED

Overview

logo genmedThe Laboratory of Excellence in Medical Genomics, GENMED aims to promote the development of competitive research projects in human diseases both nationally and internationally. Thus, GENMED evaluates, develops and implements, in a high throughput production context, next generation technologies and methodologies combined with integrated genomic data analysis.

This genomic analysis strategy is applied initially to monogenic and multifactorial diseases for which French research is a recognized international leader such as in Alzheimer's disease, autism, cardiomyopathy, rare diseases, cancer... In the future it is expected that it will be applied to other diseases and enable major advances in medicine.

GENMED aims at the development of genomic medicine :

  • Conducting discoveries with a high translational impact to customize the treatment of patients affected by certain diseases and reducing their side effects,
  • Participating in the establishment of networks, the development of new technologies, ethics, medical training and interaction with biotechnology companies that will form the foundation for the future of medicine.

The Labex GENMED will also interact with other large cohorts that have been selected and funded by the "Investissements d'Avenir" program such as CANTO and RADICO.

cephinsermupmcceacng

GENMED

Présentation

logo genmedLe Laboratoire d'excellence en GENomique MEDicale, GENMED, a pour objectif de promouvoir le développement de projets de recherche, sur des pathologies humaines, compétitifs à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Ainsi, GENMED évalue, développe et implémente, dans un environnement de production à haut débit, les technologies et méthodologies de nouvelle génération combinées à l'analyse intégrée des données de génomique.

Cette stratégie d'analyse génomique est appliquée dans un premier temps à des pathologies monogéniques et multifactorielles pour lesquelles la recherche française a un avantage dans la compétition internationale telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer, l'autisme, la cardiomyopathie, les maladies rares, le cancer... Elle devrait pouvoir être appliquée à d'autres pathologies dans le futur et permettre des avancées majeures de la Médecine.

GENMED vise au développement de la médecine génomique en :

  • réalisant des découvertes à fort impact translationnel permettant de personnaliser le traitement de patients affectés par certaines pathologies et limiter leurs effets secondaires,
  • participant à la mise en place de réseaux, au développement de nouvelles technologies, aux réflexions éthiques, à la formation médicale, à l'interaction avec les sociétés de biotechnologie qui constitueront les fondations de la médecine du futur.

Le Labex GENMED interagit avec d'autres projets labellisés « Investissements d'Avenir » comme les projets CANTO et RADICO.

cephinsermupmcceacng